Westchester Health Agency Offers Back-To-School Shots

  • Comment
The Westchester County Health Department will offer immunizations for children throughout the summer.
The Westchester County Health Department will offer immunizations for children throughout the summer. Photo Credit: Smchealth.org

WESTCHESTER COUNTY, N.Y. -- The Westchester County Health Department is offering back-to-school shots for children at local clinics throughout the summer. 

“To help your children stay healthy year-round, now is the best time to schedule an appointment with your child’s health care provider to ensure that they will have the immunizations they need,” said Commissioner of Health Dr. Sherlita Amler. “This will also help you avoid potential delays in starting school this fall.”

New regulations for school admissions require schools to closely scrutinize children’s immunization records, and failure to comply could result in a child not being allowed to start or continue in school if immunizations are not current. 

The county Health Department will offer free immunizations by appointment at clinics in July, August and September for children ages 12 months through 18 years who are uninsured or whose insurance don't cover immunizations.

Appointments will be made on a first-come, first-served basis for vaccine clinic sessions scheduled between Friday, July 18, and Tuesday, Sept. 23.

To schedule an appointment at the Health Department clinic in Yonkers at 20 S. Broadway, call 231-2500.

The dates are as follows:

  • Thursday, July 24, 4-6 p.m.
  • Monday, July 28, 10 a.m.-noon.
  • Friday, Aug. 22, 1-3 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Sept. 2, 1-6 p.m.
  • Thursday, Sept. 4, 1-3 p.m.
  • Friday, Sept. 5, 9 a.m.-noon.
  • Tuesday, Sept. 16, 1-3 p.m.

To schedule an appointment at the Health Department clinic in White Plains at 134 Court St., call 995-5800.

The dates are as follows:

  • Friday, July 18, 10 a.m.-noon.
  • Friday, July 25, 1-3 p.m.
  • Thursday, July 31, 4-6 p.m.
  • Thursday, Aug. 21, 9 a.m.-noon1 and 1-3 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Aug. 26, 1-3 p.m.
  • Wednesday, Sept. 3, 1-6 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Sept. 9, 11 a.m.-3 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Sept. 23, 1-3 p.m.
  • Comment

Comments